A new type of corona virus.  Britain closes its borders to six countries

Health Minister Sajid Javid announced this Thursday evening From Friday noon six countries – South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini He will return to the travel red list. This means that All flights from these countries will be suspendedOnly citizens and residents of Great Britain and Ireland will be able to enter the UK from them, but upon arrival they will have to undergo a paid hotel quarantine.

Worldwide, only 59 cases of the B.1.1.529 variant have been confirmed so far – mostly in South Africa, Botswana and Hong Kong. No cases have been detected in the UK so far, but the government has advised all those who have returned from one of these six countries in the past 10 days to get tested for the coronavirus.

Minister Javid said so Scientists ‘extremely concerned’ about new alternativeAlthough you need to know more about it. Like he said, we know he has a large number of mutations, “Maybe twice as many mutations as we saw in delta variable“This may indicate that it may be more transmissible and that our current vaccines may be less effective,” he explained.

The Minister of Health indicated that Adding six countries to the red list is a precautionary measure, Which aims to protect the borders as best as possible. At the beginning of October, the last seven countries were removed from the British travel red list, although the list was left behind in case the situation deteriorates.

WHO experts will meet on Friday to assess the variable that has been classified as a surveillance variable on Wednesday. If it is upgraded to an annoying variant, it may get a name from the Greek alphabet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Russia withdrew the submarines. The empty bay in the photo

The Black Sea Fleet includes six submarines of the Soviet Warszawianka project.…

The sea dragon was discovered in Great Britain. Remains of large ichthyosaurs have been found in Rutland Reserve

Ichthyosaurs, colloquially “sea dragons”, are prehistoric marine reptiles that lived in the…

Corona Virus. France: Paris introduces mandatory outdoor masks

This obligation applies to persons over 11 years of age “excluding persons…

Boris Johnson “outraged” at the death penalty for British prisoners in Donbass. Zakharov: hysterical reaction | world News

Co-workers the first show Boris Johnson released a statement on Friday, he…